DOC Honors U.S. Companies with Presidential Award for Export Achievements

Today, the Department of Commerce honored 31 U.S. companies and organizations that export goods and services overseas by naming them winners of the 2021 President’s “E” Awards. This year’s winners hail from 20 states, and of the 31 honorees, 25 are small and medium-sized businesses, and 14 firms are manufacturers.

“I am honored to recognize the tremendous achievements of this year’s ‘E’ Awards recipients,” Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo said. “These organizations embody the innovation, dynamism, and resilience characteristic of America’s business community, and they should all be proud of their contributions to our commercial engagement with the global community.”

The President’s “E” Award was created in 1961 by Executive Order of the President. It is the highest recognition a U.S. entity can receive for making a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

This year, 16 companies were honored with the “E” Award for Exports for demonstrating a sustained increase in export sales over a four-year period. Two of which are based here in Ohio:

“E” Award for Exports

  • Overdrive, Inc. – Cleveland, OH
  • Youngstown State University – Youngstown, OH

Additionally, Secretary Raimondo presented the 2020 President’s “E” Awards to 39 winners as the 2020 ceremony was canceled due to pandemic restrictions, including Rohlig USA, LLC.

American companies are nominated for “E” Awards through the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service office network, located within the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration. Record years of successive export growth and an applicant’s demonstration of an innovative international marketing plan that led to the increase in exports is a significant factor in selecting the overall winners.
For more information about the “E” Awards and the benefits of exporting, visit or contact your local US Export Assistance Center.

E Award
Posted in